New ARM User Executive Committee Members Announced

Published: 22 January 2019
From left to right, ARM User Executive Committee members Larry Berg (then chair), Courtney Schumacher, and Sébastien Biraud (then vice-chair) gather at the 2017 Joint ARM User Facility/Atmospheric System Research Principal Investigators Meeting. Biraud is now chair of the 13-member committee.

Your votes have been processed, and eight new ARM User Executive Committee (UEC) members have been elected. They represent a set of science themes previously covered by members who rolled off after serving up to four years. Twenty-one nominees appeared on the ballot. ARM held a virtual election from October 22 to November 6, 2018, in which 193 of you voted.

New members are listed below along with their home institutions and the areas they were chosen to represent. Where a candidate received high votes in more than one category, multiple categories are listed with the primary category first.

The UEC will continue to be an independent body providing objective, timely feedback to ARM leadership with respect to the user experience. Reporting directly to the ARM technical director in his capacity as chair of the ARM Infrastructure Management Board, the committee serves as the official voice of the user community in its interactions with ARM management.

Two years from now, the other incumbents will rotate out, following ARM’s staggered replacement plan. The one exception is the Early Career Representative, who is elected every two years. In this way, ARM ensures continuity and change, staying closely aligned with user requirements.

New members are:

Allison Aiken
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Aerosol Measurements, Cloud-Aerosol-Precipitation Interactions

Daniel Feldman
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Radiative Transfer

Scott Giangrande
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Cloud Measurements, Precipitation Processes, Cloud-Aerosol-Precipitation Interactions

Xiaohong Liu
University of Wyoming
Aerosol Modeling, Cloud Modeling, Global-Scale Modeling

Max Maahn
University of Colorado, Boulder
Early Career Representative

Art Sedlacek
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Aerial Measurements

Adam Varble
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Cloud Measurements, Cloud Modeling, High-Resolution Modeling

Paquita Zuidema
University of Miami
Aerosol Measurements, Land-Atmosphere Interactions

Returning members are:

Sébastien Biraud, Chair
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Land-Atmosphere Interactions

Christine Chiu
Colorado State University
Cloud Measurements, Radiative Transfer

Jiwen Fan
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
High-Resolution Modeling, Cloud Modeling, Cloud-Aerosol-Precipitation Interactions

Graham Feingold
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Aerosol Modeling, Cloud Modeling, Cloud-Aerosol-Precipitation Interactions

Courtney Schumacher
Texas A&M University
Precipitation Processes

Learn more about the UEC members on the committee’s web page.

For more information about UEC operations, read the User Executive Committee Charter.

# # #

ARM is a DOE Office of Science user facility operated by nine DOE national laboratories.