Graduate Student Funding Opportunity

Published: 23 September 2019

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) program is accepting new applicants for supplemental funds to conduct part of their graduate thesis research at a DOE national laboratory/facility in collaboration with a DOE laboratory scientist. These research opportunities are expected to advance graduate students’ doctoral theses/dissertations while providing access to the expertise, resources, and capabilities available at the host DOE laboratories/facilities.

The supplemental awards provide for additional, incremental costs of living and travel expenses directly associated with conducting the SCGSR project at the host DOE laboratory/facility during the award period (three to 12 consecutive months). The goal of the SCGSR program is to prepare graduate students for scientific and technical careers that are critically important to the DOE Office of Science mission.

Applicants must be pursuing graduate research in an area that is aligned with one or more of the Priority Research Areas for the SCGSR 2019 Solicitation 2 cycle. For the Office of Science’s Biological and Environmental Research program, those areas include Atmospheric System Research: Coupling Atmospheric Observational Data with Numerical Models and Earth System Modeling: Computational Climate Modeling.

The Office of Science expects to make approximately 70 awards in the 2019 Solicitation 2 cycle for project periods beginning between June 15, 2020, and October 5, 2020. Since its inception in 2014, the SCGSR program has provided support to over 480 graduate awardees from more than 135 U.S. universities to conduct thesis research at 18 DOE national laboratories/facilities.

Applications are due Thursday, November 14, 2019, 5 p.m. Eastern time. For more information, please visit the SCGSR program page. You can also view the full list of SCGSR Priority Research Areas and eligibility requirements.

# # #

ARM is a DOE Office of Science user facility operated by nine DOE national laboratories.