ARM Science Board


The objective of the ARM Science Board is to promote the nation’s scientific enterprise by ensuring that the best-quality science is conducted at the U.S. Department of Energy user facility known as the Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) user facility.

Comprised of highly respected ARM-supported scientists and the external climate research community, the function of the Science Board is to review proposals for use of the facility. These proposals may be submitted by anyone in the scientific research community, without regard to nationality or institutional affiliation. The Board will coordinate with the ARM Infrastructure Management Board to assess the availability and resource requirements of the proposed facility usage.

To assist the scientific investigators with their proposals for funding from their prospective funding agencies, the Science Board will consider facility usage proposals in a timely manner. The Board may set up specialty teams to address particular issues under its mandate, e.g., logistics associated with use of the ARM Mobile Facility.

Board Members

Selected by DOE, the ARM Science Board serves as an independent review board and ensures ARM is used to conduct the highest-quality science. ARM Field Campaign Administrator Virginia Doyle organizes the activities of the ARM Science Board. DOE Program Manager Sally McFarlane directs the budgeting, planning, coordination, and management of activities within the ARM structure. ARM Science Board members are:

  • Larry Berg, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Delphine Farmer, Colorado State University
  • Suzanne Paulson, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Markus Petters, North Carolina State University
  • Derek Posselt, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Marcus van Lier-Walqui, Columbia University
  • Sonia Wharton, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory