Instrument : Ground Radiometers on Stand for Upwelling Radiation (GNDRAD)

Instrument Categories
Radiometric

Picture of the Ground Radiometers on Stand for Upwelling Radiation (GNDRAD)
Picture of the Ground Radiometers on Stand for Upwelling Radiation (GNDRAD)

General Overview

The Ground Radiation (GNDRAD) collection of radiometers provides the TWP, NSA, and AMFs with continuous measurements of broadband shortwave (solar) and longwave (infrared) irradiances for upwelling components. These 1-minute data are collected to help determine the total radiative energy exchange at each specific research site location.

NOTE: See ARM Pyrgeometer Calibrations & Field Measurements: Information Regarding the Data Restriction Notice (PowerPoint presentation).

Output Value-Added Products

This instrument is an input to the following value-added products, which provide improved measurements or derived quantities.

  • qcrad1long : Surface Radiation Measurement Quality Control testing, including climatologically configurable limits
  • qcradbeflux1long : Surface Radiation Measurement (BEFLUX input) QC testing, incl. climatologically configurable limits
  • qcradbrs1long : Surface Radiation Measurement (BRS input) QC testing, incl. climatologically configurable limits

Output Datastreams

  • gndrad60s : Ground radiation sensor: 60-second upwelling

Primary Measurements

The following measurements are those considered scientifically relevant.

Locations

Eastern North Atlantic
ENAC1Browse DataGraciosa Island, Azores, Portugal
North Slope Alaska
NSAC1Browse DataCentral Facility, Barrow AK
NSAC2Browse DataCentral Facility, Atqasuk AK
Tropical Western Pacific
TWPC1Browse DataCentral Facility, Manus I., PNG
TWPC2Browse DataCentral Facility, Nauru Island
TWPC3Browse DataCentral Facility, Darwin, Australia
ARM Mobile Facility
FKBM1Browse DataBlack Forest, Germany
GANM1Browse DataGan Airport, Gan Island, Maldives
GRWM1Browse DataGraciosa Island, Azores, Portugal
HFEM1Browse DataShouxian, Anhui, China
MAOM1Browse DataManacapuru, Amazonas, Brazil; AMF1
NIMM1Browse DataNiamey, Niger
OLIM1Browse DataOliktok Point, Alaska
PGHM1Browse DataARIES Observatory, Nainital, Uttarkhand, India
PVCM1Browse DataHighland Center, Cape Cod MA; AMF 1
PYEM1Browse DataPoint Reyes, CA
SBSM1Browse DataSteamboat Springs CO, Valley Site
TMPM1Browse DataU. of Helsinki Research Station (SMEAR II), Hyytiala, Finland; AMF2

Contact(s)

Manajit Sengupta
303-275-3706
Manajit.Sengupta@nrel.gov

Aron Habte
associate
(303) 384-6389
Aron.Habte@nrel.gov

Ibrahim Reda
associate
(303) 384-6385
ibrahim.reda@nrel.gov

Mary Anderberg
associate
303-275-4680
mary.anderberg@nrel.gov

Mike Dooraghi
associate
(303) 384-6329
mike.dooraghi@nrel.gov

Peter Gotseff
associate
(303) 384-6327
peter.gotseff@nrel.gov

Victor Morris
associate
(509) 372-6144
victor.morris@pnnl.gov

Afshin Andreas
associate
(303) 384-6383
afshin.andreas@nrel.gov

Mark Kutchenreiter
associate
303-384-7900
mark.kutchenreiter@nrel.gov