Instrument : Ground Radiometers on Stand for Upwelling Radiation (GNDRAD)

Instrument Categories
Radiometric

Picture of the Ground Radiometers on Stand for Upwelling Radiation (GNDRAD)

General Overview

The Ground Radiation (GNDRAD) collection of radiometers provides the TWP, NSA, and AMFs with continuous measurements of broadband shortwave (solar) and longwave (infrared) irradiances for upwelling components. These 1-minute data are collected to help determine the total radiative energy exchange at each specific research site location.

NOTE: See ARM Pyrgeometer Calibrations & Field Measurements: Information Regarding the Data Restriction Notice (PowerPoint presentation).

Output Value-Added Products

This instrument is an input to the following value-added products, which provide improved measurements or derived quantities.

  • qcrad1long : Surface Radiation Measurement Quality Control testing, including climatologically configurable limits
  • qcradbeflux1long : Surface Radiation Measurement (BEFLUX input) QC testing, incl. climatologically configurable limits
  • qcradbrs1long : Surface Radiation Measurement (BRS input) QC testing, incl. climatologically configurable limits

Output Datastreams

  • gndrad60s : Ground radiation sensor: 60-second upwelling

Primary Measurements

The following measurements are those considered scientifically relevant.

Locations

Eastern North Atlantic
ENAC1 Browse Data Browse PlotsGraciosa Island, Azores, Portugal
North Slope Alaska
NSAC1 Browse Data Browse PlotsCentral Facility, Barrow AK
NSAC2 Browse Data Browse PlotsCentral Facility, Atqasuk AK
Tropical Western Pacific
TWPC1 Browse Data Browse PlotsCentral Facility, Manus I., PNG
TWPC2 Browse Data Browse PlotsCentral Facility, Nauru Island
TWPC3 Browse Data Browse PlotsCentral Facility, Darwin, Australia
ARM Mobile Facility
FKBM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsBlack Forest, Germany
GANM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsGan Airport, Gan Island, Maldives
GRWM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsGraciosa Island, Azores, Portugal
HFEM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsShouxian, Anhui, China
MAOM1 Browse DataManacapuru, Amazonas, Brazil; AMF1
NIMM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsNiamey, Niger
OLIM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsOliktok Point, Alaska
PGHM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsARIES Observatory, Nainital, Uttarkhand, India
PVCM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsHighland Center, Cape Cod MA; AMF 1
PYEM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsPoint Reyes, CA
SBSM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsSteamboat Springs CO, Valley Site
TMPM1 Browse Data Browse PlotsU. of Helsinki Research Station (SMEAR II), Hyytiala, Finland; AMF2

Contact(s)

Manajit Sengupta
303-275-3706
Manajit.Sengupta@nrel.gov

Victor Morris
associate
(509) 372-6144
victor.morris@pnnl.gov

Mary Anderberg
associate
303-275-4680
mary.anderberg@nrel.gov

Ibrahim Reda
associate
(303) 384-6385
ibrahim.reda@nrel.gov

Afshin Andreas
associate
(303) 384-6383
afshin.andreas@nrel.gov

Mark Kutchenreiter
associate
303-384-7900
mark.kutchenreiter@nrel.gov

Aron Habte
associate
(303) 384-6389
Aron.Habte@nrel.gov

Mike Dooraghi
associate
(303) 384-6329
mike.dooraghi@nrel.gov